Contemporary Monday: Andrew Ballstaedt

abloookup

So I know that most of you are probably familiar with Andrew Ballstaedt since he’s a BYU guy, but I’ve just really been digging his stuff recently. Andrew and I are collaborating on a project right now with a big group of people and so I’ve been looking through his portfolio.

Yesterday in one of my classes, we were talking about the different stages of development and how important the stage of scribbling is and how students will often draw these rudimentary sketches but then emphasize what is important to them by making it the largest object.

As I was looking at Andrew’s work, I realized that he has incorporated some of these tendencies and by doing so he has turned them into his technique! Isn’t that so cool!

21073511798_events_cityrainbow

3278

I just love his colors, and it is very reminiscent of children’s art and pull towards the bright and shiny.

andrew_big_family_flag_category

This is a quote from his artist statement:
“I use painting as a form of ritual and meditation where I often spend lots of time painting and repeating simple marks over and over again. On occasion, I am able to make quick paintings that are successful but most of the time I am compelled to spend repetitive hours making marks in order to reach my state of personal mediation through the ritual of painting.”

http://andrewballstaedt.com/

Leave a Reply

