Contemporary Art Monday: Issey Miyake

miyake1

I saw one of Miyake’s pieces at the MOMA and I thought that it was interesting, so I wrote his piece down and copied it in my sketchbook. I didn’t realize until I was researching him tonight that he is actually a fashion designer, but that’s just another type of art right? He has this obsession with geometric design and some of the lines that he creates through his designs are just so cool!
This is the piece that I saw:

in-ei-tr-011-by-issey-miyake-reality-lab-_6-copia-2048x1612

Issey-Miyake-lamp

These two pieces are lamps, really intense origami lamps!
I love how he applies these patterns and shapes into his fashion pieces.

11721307-pleats-please-issey-miyake-stylert-5

images

issey-miyake_ss-1984-4

And these are by far my favorite:

sjcf_01_img0273

You can see these in his 2001 Spring Fashion Collection:

And to see his latest stuff (and obviously it’s what we should all be wearing this fall) check it out here:

Leave a Reply

