Contemporary Art Monday: Howard Finster

I was super lucky to be able to go on a fantastic east coast trip this last winter. We went from D.C. to New York and one of my favorite stops was at the Philadelphia Museum of Art.
When I saw that there was an Outsider Art exhibit, I went straight to it and spent a good long while in there. Outsider art is so great! Because the artists who create it are generally self taught their work is often associated with naive and folk art (which I love!). It tends to have child like qualities, but then the art often touches on deep and darker topics. The combination is just really fascinating.
One of the artists that stood out to me the most was Howard Finster.

Howard_Finster

He has such an interesting story. He was born in Georgia and he told people that his art was inspired by visions that God blessed him with. He became a baptist at 13 and started preaching at 16. Because he was so passionate about religion and that topic often arises in his work.
I got to see these two pieces in real life!

FINSTER-JESUS-SMALL

Image-22

He uses typography in a really interesting way, and I love how often he incorporates hand written type into his work. I don’t know if you can see everything that he’s written, but he has a great sense of humor. This piece is called, “Quit Blowing Your Horn Down There. Don’t You See My Hands Are Full”.

He also did some work for R.E.M. and the Talking Heads.

Finster REM

talking heads

And I just like all of his stuff! He created over 46,000 pieces of art. Thank Goodness!

finster_flag

large_IMG_5610

Finster2

6f0a4fea111574ab1fc731bbe66faf9f_w600

Leave a Reply

