Spotlight Friday: Carson Ellis

There’s something about that Carson Ellis. She turns me into a fan girl in about .4 seconds flat of coming into sight of her work. Those detailed lines, her tasteful use of color and gorgeous patterns. Mmm! Scrumptious!

I think I discovered her when I started reading the ‘Mysterious Benedict Society’ series by Trenton Lee Stewart (which is a brilliant series by the way and I highly recommend it).

the-mysterious-benedict-society-main

There’s just something so beautiful about the way she uses a fluid medium in such a tight and controlled way. I believe it is because of her work that I started buying smaller brushes and using up more and more of my gouache paint!

I realized later that I already had seen her work on this album cover. Another great find on the free Itunes single of the week. I think that’s another thing I like about this gal. She has great taste in music!

julyflame

She is married to Colin Meloy of the Decemberists, which has somewhat influenced her work : ) I’ve been seriously thinking about buying this poster. Look at those peacock feathers!

edge-green

billy-liar

Colin and Carson’s latest project has been collaborating on their ‘Wildwood’ series. The story takes place in their hometown, Portland, OR. I decided that there was no better way to appreciate the project than by buying my copy at Powell’s Books on my trip to Oregon last summer! It’s a good one! I’m so excited for Laika studios to turn this book into a stop motion film!

Wildwood

Also, I love love love her typography. Goodness, it’s all just to die for!

Check out more of her work on her website: http://www.carsonellis.com/

Also, you should definitely check out Laika Studios just because they’re crazy insane fantastic! http://www.laika.com/

Leave a Reply

