What More Could I Have Done for My Vineyard?

Vineyard

This is the second piece in a series that I’m working on. It is an illustration of the Allegory of the Olive Trees from Chapter 5 of Jacob in the Book of Mormon. I love the emotions in this story. The Lord of the Vineyard loves his trees so much and wants to do all that he possibly can to save each one. There are tame and wild trees that each need so much attention. “I will prune it, and dig about it, and nourish it, that perhaps it may shoot forth young and tender branches, and it perish not…It grieveth me that I should lose this tree”.

In a moment of despair the Lord of the vineyard cries out in agony, “What could I have done more for my vineyard?” “Have I slackened mine hand, that I have not nourished it? Nay, I have nourished it, and I have digged about it, and I have pruned it and dunged it; and I have stretched forth mine hand almost all the day long, and the end draweth nigh. And it grieveth me that I should hew down all the trees of my vineyard…Who is it that as corrupted my vineyard?”

I admire the Lord of the vineyard so much for his persistence and his love of the trees. I can see the parallel of God’s love for each one of us and His persisting love for us despite all of our mistakes. I have also felt the pain of feeling that my every effort seems to have been in vain.

But of course there is a happy ending! “…there began to be natural fruit again in the vineyard; and the natural branches began to grow and thrive exceedingly”.

This print will be at the exhibition this friday night!

Leave a Reply

