Twirling Canvases and Gesso

I’m so excited to show you what I’ve been working on! I’ve been head painting a lot and working on composition layouts and color swatches and all of that jazz….So ta da! Here is the first color study! The story behind this picture is that my sister and I were avid twirlers. We were the girliest girls who loved sparkles and dolls and playing house and the minute the music came on, we would be found in our skirts and frills, dancing around the living room, the stage or wherever we were.

I’m still not sure how I feel about the hair color, but I really like the overall feel of it. I’ve been loving this project! There’s nothing better than listening to National Public Radio and layering on the paint. Mmm mmm mmm.

3 thoughts on “Twirling Canvases and Gesso

  1. I personally love the hair color. The movement and variation of tones in the hair is beautiful. Listening to audiobooks while working is fun too. If you haven’t read The Hunger Games yet, I would definitely recommend it. Although, I’m not sure it would set the right tone for what you’re working on right now. There’s nothing better than being excited to work on a project. I can’t wait to see more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

