Naivete and Nostalgia CONTEST!

Competition details at the end of post!

Well I’ve been contemplating on so many projects and concepts and lovely things. I wanted to share with you my mission statement of sorts that I’ve personally declared.
I realized something important to me and I decided that I want purity and innocence to be a concept that is a part of my work; both my art work and my life’s work of creating my life and self into a masterpiece. I’ve always been concerned about how to live in this “increasingly toxic world (Elaine S. Dalton).” In the swamp of high-tech special effects and fabricated highs and cultural chaos, it seems impossible to find a way to solid ground. I sometimes have the desire to strip myself of the muck of the world and reject it all, but if I can’t do that then I want to be an influence in the world for good.

Thomas S. Monson reminded me of this, “This is a wonderful time to be on earth. While there is much that is wrong in the world today, there are many things that are right and good. There are marriages that make it, parents who love their children and sacrifice for them, friends who care about us and help us, teachers who teach. Our lives are blessed in countless ways (added italicization).”

So that’s what I’ll do. I will focus on cherishing innocence and clinging to creative innovation that is pure and undiluted of filth.

I love the idea of helping children grow in imagination and exploration instead of being fed mindless media garbage. Someone who has really made an impact on my life in this concept illustratively is Lauren Child. Her drawings and stories have so much beauty and so much simple integrity. It just makes me want to burst off to the London market place and soak in all of their British chatter and happy child adventures.

It’s been influential in helping me to pursue this new idea! Duh duh duh duh!
I’m going to do an art show! My first one!

I came across some brilliant children’s literature written by none other than yours truly and my dear sister when we were in elementary school. I’ve decided to take the idea and run with it, creating narrative illustrations all about my naive and beautiful growing moments. Let me know what you think!

I’ll be ambitiously painting 6-7 pieces in 6-7 weeks! It will be an adventure but you’ll be with me along the way right? Here are some of my ideas. I hope you like them!

http://www.milkmonitor.com/ (Lauren Child website)

Oh did I mention that this is a competition? Yeah, I know you get to compete; cool huh?

So I’m helpless in my decision to title the show, and I think you’re just the one competent enough to help me out.

My ideas:

“Lunchbox Naivete”

“Crayonbox Candor”

“Normandie”

“Grammar-school Gullability”

“School-grounds Sweetness”

“Pencilbox Charm”

What are your ideas?

Here is where the real competition begins. If you can come up with a sweetly profound title that I just adore too much to turn away, then you’ll receive a free post card set!

Looks like I need to get busy making post cards! Thanks all!

2 thoughts on “Naivete and Nostalgia CONTEST!

  1. Ok, so here are my ideas. All might need to be tweaked. I’m not that good with words, but maybe you will like some of these.
    1. Sidewalk chalk masterpieces
    2. Canvas playground, the playground is my canvas, something like that.
    3. -something to do with crayola crayon colors- tickle me pink, periwinkle, razzmatazz, burnt sienna, or whatever ones you like!

Leave a Reply

